why I love multiple income streams

I frequently hear my friends and family lament, “You have a good job now. Why do you still need to work some much? Relax!” Although I do have a good job now, I still am holding on to my two part-time jobs and am always on the lookout for freelance work. Why? When is it time to call it quits?

I’ve been thinking about that question a lot recently, and considering if I push myself too hard sometimes. After a lot of thought, I decided I wasn’t, and came up with 4 main reasons that I LOVE having multiple income streams!

#1) MORE INCOME! I feel like this is obvious, but more work = more money. The more income streams that I allow to open up, the more income I have at my disposal to use as I wish (typically as savings for travel). Who couldn’t use a little more cash?

#2) I stay busy. When I work multiple jobs and also pick up side jobs, my time is limited. I still try to balance everything in my life, which is easier said than done. However, I like being a busy person. The biggest perk of staying busy is that I don’t have time to shop or lust after things – by the end of the day, I’m ready to take a shower and relax, not shop.

#3) I get to use different skills than I would at my day job. I am fortunate that the jobs that I have are all different – one is in computer software (main job), one is slingin’ coffee for a national chain (side job) and one is teaching dance to children (side job). For each job, I get to hone a set of skills that I wouldn’t normally exercise. For instance, at my main job, I need to focus on accuracy and attention to detail. At my coffee job, I need to exercise my customer service skills. When I teach dance, I have to work on leadership and creativity. All of those unique things make me work differently and sometimes push me to my limits, but I think that it is beneficial because it keeps me on my toes and rounds out my  skill-set.

#4) My network increases substantially. If I worked at just one of those jobs, my professional network would be quite small. However, if I add up all the people I come into contact with on a regular basis due to work,  I have quite a network. My coffee shop job sneakily allows for some awesome networking capabilities – it is really easy to chat up customers in the name of customer service! It can also open doors for you that may have otherwise been closed. Almost all of the jobs I have ever had came from networking – don’t discount it, your personal network is very important!

What are your thoughts on multiple income streams? Is it too hard to manage? Is it easier for you to just focus on one job? Do you have eight jobs and make me look like a multiple job wimp? Share your stories with me!

Leave a Reply

