a friendly hello

I have something that I must confess, and I need to get it out of the way early: I love personal finance, particularly savings hacks. That’s right. A 23-year-old girl, who loves to travel and adventure, is lame enough to have this dirty little secret of loving personal finance. I love the nitty-gritty details of ROTH IRA’s. My heart leaps at seeing a decent coupon. Talk to me about multiple-income streams and I swoon. But why? It’s all for the love of travel. Learning these tips and tricks allows me to save to follow my life’s passion, which is travel.

 

The travel bug bit me young, and I have never recovered. Anytime a road trip is discussed, I’m automatically in. A late-night drunken conversation leads to, “Let’s go to Vegas!” and the next day, while everyone else is nursing their hangovers, I am popping Advil and searching Travelocity. As a child on family road trips, I would look out of the window of the car and imagine what life was like for people who lived in these different towns. What kind of lives were they living? How were we different, and how were we the same? These types of questions entertained me for our long trips, but they inspired me to find out more about other cultures as I aged.

 

I also love to read and to learn, and when it came time for college, I knew I wanted to do something that either involved A) lots of reading, B) lots of travel, or C) both. After several major changes, I decided on a career in international business with a focus on a foreign language (Russian). Some of the courses offered in conjunction with the required classes allowed me to travel, and this was something that I wanted to do desperately. I worked hard in college, both academically and secularly. I was able to take a few amazing trips, but instead of quenching my thrist for travel, it just made me want it more. I was determined to find ways to travel no matter what.

 

It wasn’t easy. It still isn’t easy. The satisfaction that I get when I am able to go to a new country and think to myself, “I did this all on my own. No one helped me” or better yet, “I’m going to be debt-free when I get home!” is immense, however, and I want to be able to share with others how I did it. My peers regularly tell me that they are jealous or wish that they were able to do what I have done. With this blog, I would like to encourage all fellow wanderlusters to know that they can acheive their goals of seeing the world. It may take a little time and a lot of effort, but anyone can do it (even someone who isn’t a personal finance geek!).

 

Here’s to the opportunity to follow your (wandering) heart and not go broke!

Leave a Reply

